Tassie Circuit Championship enjoys fifth round battle

Tuesday 08 October, 2019
Photos: Angryman Photography
The CAMS Tasmanian Circuit Racing Championship has enjoyed a successful fifth round of the year after an entertaining weekend of racing.

Headlining the seven-category meeting was the Historic Regularity cars as Ashley Board took out the round’s top honours after scoring the most points across the category’s four runs. 

It wasn’t all smooth sailing though as the category multiple run winners, Board’s outright victory coming off the back of consistent results including two wins himself.  

Just one point behind Board in the standings was Brett Mansfield after the Holden VL Commodore driver equalled the winner for a race win of his own, while run four winner John Routley rounded out the podium.

A close finish also took place in the HQ Holdens with Andrew Toth edging out Joe Rattray by one point and Otis Cordwell by three to claim the Ian Beechey Perpetual Trophy. 

Both Toth and Rattray enjoyed two wins each and Cordwell’s three runner-ups put him right in contention, but it was the double points race victory to Toth which helped him secure the top spot. 

The remaining four categories were dominated by individuals with Formula Vee, Improved Production, Hyundai Excels and Sports Sedans all ending in similar fashion.

Behind the wheel of the VH Commodore , Brett O’Shea enjoyed a perfect day out in the event’s biggest category of the round, the Sports Sedans and GTs, with four wins from four attempts. Four podium finishes was also enough for Stephen Noble to finish in second place ahead of Eric Taylor. 

In the Hyundai Excels, the top three remained unchanged all event as Peter Kemp led Josh Webster and Callum Mitchell throughout the four races. 

Nino Bocchino also ended the weekend with four Formula Vee wins after cruising to a round win, but it was the battle for second, which went down to the wire.

Battling it out in all four races, Callum Bishop had the edge over Justin Murphy after finishing second in the opening three races, but fell behind after a disappointing seventh in race two. 

Bishop managed to leapfrog Murphy in the final race after overtaking him on the final lap to steal second place and earn a runner-up finish. 

The final category for the weekend saw Bradley Chick claim maximum points in the Historic Touring & Improved Production Car category over John Talbot and Scot Cordwell.

The CAMS Tasmanian Circuit Racing Championship holds its final round for 2019 at Baskerville Raceway as part of the Improved Production Nationals on 16-18 November.