Webber’s massive honour

Tuesday 03 December, 2019

Australian Mark Webber has become just the third Australian to be inducted into the FIA Hall of Fame.

Taking place at a special ceremony recognising all World Endurance Championship (WEC) winners since 1981 at the FIA’s headquarters in Paris, Webber was one of 29 individuals to be welcomed to the Hall of Fame.

The new inclusions join the 17 World Rally Champions inducted earlier this year and all 33 Formula 1 world champions inducted during the inaugural ceremony in 2017, including fellow Australians Jack Brabham and Alan Jones.

Webber began his career in the World Endurance Championship, before a memorable 12-year career in Formula 1 where he raced with Williams and Red Bull and secured nine race wins and narrowly missed out on a World Championship title.

In 2014, the New South Welshman joined the Porsche Factory team where he competed in the endurance championship for a further three years and won the title in 2015 alongside New Zealander Brendan Hartley and Timo Bernhard.

Other notable entries into the Hall of Fame were 1988 champion and current Sky Sports Formula 1 commentator Martin Brundle, Bathurst 12 Hour two-class winner Earl Bamber and current WEC champions Sebastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima and Fernando Alonso.

Alonso’s addition makes him just the first driver to be inducted twice after being announced in the class of 2017 thanks to his two Formula 1 titles in 2005 and 2006.

Click here to view all inductees of the FIA Hall of Fame.