S5000 field complete as Super driver joins ranks

Thursday 19 September, 2019
The final driver for the inaugural S5000 race meeting this weekend at Sandown Raceway has been announced with Virgin Australia Supercars Championship driver James Golding named in the 13-strong field.
Already part of the Garry Rogers Motorsport family, Golding has enjoyed some time behind the wheel of the open-wheel V8-powered race car in a number of tests for the S5000 car constructors. 
Following a successful final test at Phillip Island this week, Golding was given the tick of approval from GRM to get into the final available seat for this weekend’s historic first race. 
“I’m really looking forward to racing at Sandown. It’s going to be a great race weekend,” Golding said.
“I’ll admit, I wasn’t too sure about racing in this new category, but as I’ve done more laps and gradually gone faster. I feel much more comfortable and confident in the car.
“Now, I’m really enjoying them and I’m starting to get a better hang of it.“The cars have been improving as we’ve been going. I’ve had a couple of test-drives now, and we’ve made tweaks to make it more settled. We’ll make some more tune ups to it for Sandown, which is going to provide another new challenge.
“I really think it will be a great spectacle. It will be good to get some people down there and check them out. They sound awesome and I’m sure everyone will really enjoy it.”
Golding enters the frame with a wealth of experience having competed in Supercars for four years with GRM, his best result being 22nd in the 2018 season. 
The Victorian joins the likes of former Formula 1 star Rubens Barrichello and Australian international Matthew Brabham in what is a highly talented entry list. 
The S5000s will first get on track with practice on Friday before having its special qualifying races and main race on Saturday and Sunday.
Tickets for the Shannons Nationals sixth round are now available with 10 per cent of all sales going to charity partner Very Special Kids.
Fans unable to attend the round can watch via SBS or on the live stream on thenationals.com.au.

Entry list

Alex Davison
Team BRM  Astrontech

Michael Gibson
Australian Racing Enterprises
ACM Finance / WM Waste / Apex
Tom Alexander
AGi Sport
Tim Macrow
MTEC Motorsport
Equity One / Holinger / Boylan Group
John Martin
AGi Sport
AGi Sport
Barton Mawer
Milldun Motorsport
Tim Berryman
Team BRM
James Golding
Garry Rogers Motorsport
Will Brown
Eggleston Motorsport
Eggleston Motorsport
Matt Brabham
MTEC Motorsport
Paynter Dixon
Ricky Capo
Modena Engineering
Taylor Cockerton
MTEC Motorsport
Rubens Barrichello


The S5000 category forms part of the Shannons Nationals visit to Sandown Raceway and takes place on 20-22 September.