This Week in Motor Sport: 5 - 7 July

Thursday 04 July, 2019
Keep up to date with what's happening around Australia this weekend.
Photos: Vue Images/Red Bull Content Pool and Corey Aldridge

Watpac Townsville 400

When: 5-7 July 
Where: Reid Park Street Circuit, Townsville 
The Virgin Australia Supercars Championship reaches its midway point this weekend with races 17 and 18 taking place at the Albert Park inspired Reid Park Street Circuit in Townsville.
Reigning champion Scott McLaughlin has dominated in 2019, with the Kiwi on track to make it back-to-back titles. Two wins in Townsville will certainly make it difficult for the rest of the competition to catch the Mustang pilot.
Supercars will be joined by regular support categories including the Dunlop Super2 series, Porsche Carrera Cup Australia and Toyota 86 Racing Series with the action beginning from 8:15 to 8:30am each morning and tickets starting from $40.

Bruce Fiske Memorial Enduro

When: 7 July
Where: Bagshot Motorsports Complex
Part of the CAMS Victorian Off Road Championship and Victorian Off Road Club Series, the enduro will have competitors tackle the five kilometre course across two heats of one-hour.
Comprising of a variety of surfaces including sand, clay and gravel, as well as being considered a fun yet challenging track, the Bagshot event will test the mental strength of drivers as well as the durability of their vehicles.
Last year saw Prolite driver Eric Schlifelner claim a thrilling 12 second outright victory over Sportslite winner Andrew Glover with fellow Prolite pilot David Davis rounding out the podium.

Wheels on Yirrigan - Kumho Tyre Kirup Stages

When: 6 July
Where: Kirup, Grimwade and Surrounds
More than 30 crews are entered into the popular CAMS Zestino Tyres WA Rally Championship event, which acts as the fourth round of the championship.
WARC competitors will cover around 130 competitive kilometres with the event’s three stages to run twice across the weekend, while Clubman Masters/Cup crews will compete over 80km on four stages.
Going back to the corresponding round last year, Stephen Oxley was crowned champion ahead of fellow Subaru drivers Kody Reynolds and John O’Dowd, with the latter looking to redeem himself and make it four in a row in the championship in 2019.

For more information on the Kirup stages, click here. 


Other events around Australia 

TEDA Drift State of Origin 2019
When: 5 July
Where: Hidden Valley Motorsport Complex, Northern Territory

AROCA Phillip Island Sprint
When: 6 July
Where: Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, Victoria

WAC Volunteers Rallysprint
When: 6 July
Where: Awabawac Park, New South Wales

NSW 86 BRZ Car Club Motorkhana
When: 6 July
Where: Sydney Motorsport Park Skidpan, New South Wales

CMI Baskerville Hillclimb
When: 7 July
Where: Baskerville Raceway, Tasmania 

Huntley Multiclub Hillclimb
When: 7 July
Where: Huntley Hillclimb, New South Wales

Alice City Tyrepower Khanacross
When: 7 July
Where: Finke Desert Race Complex, Northern Territory

2019 Prospeed Racing/MCA Suspension SubiNats
When: 7 July
Where: Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, Victoria

Round 7 NSW State Motorkhana
When: 7 July
Where: Nirimba Education Precinct, New South Wales

Round 9 of the Club's 2018/2019 Championship
When: 7 July
Where: Sydney Motorsport Park, New South Wales

BMW Drivers Club NSW Supersprint Round 5
When: 7 July
Where: Sydney Motorsport Park, New South Wales

CEC Jackman Motorkhana Series 2019 Round 2
When: 7 July
Where: BLCC Motorsport Complex Ballarat Airport, Victoria

Khanacross Series 2019 Round 2
When: 7 July
Where: BLCC Motorsport Complex Ballarat Airport, Victoria

Muscle on the Mountain Car Show
When: 7 July
Where: Maleny, Queensland