Every too good for everyone else in Barbagallo

Wednesday 19 June, 2019
Marcel Every has made it three wins in a row after a thrilling weekend of sprints at Barbagallo.

Marcel Every has continued his sensational run in the LF Performance Western Australia State Speed Event Series after claiming his third consecutive round victory for the season.

With 49 competitors taking part in the Sprint at Barbagallo Raceway, the Mazda West pilot posted the fastest time of the lot to extend his lead at the top of the outright standings to more than 60 points.

Every enjoyed a tight battle with Cosi Sorgiovannia and his Dallara F3 throughout the day as both drivers ran 15 laps of the Wanneroo track and exchanged the lead on multiple occasions, before each posted their fastest time on their seventh lap. 

While Sorgiovannia had ran the fastest lap on the three leading up to the seventh, it was Every who came out the strongest and posted his winning time of one minute and five seconds, half a second faster than Sorgiovannia’s time. 

Despite Every unable to come close to his own time for the rest of the day and Sorgiovannia coming within a second on two more occasions, the Mazda driver finished on top.

Rounding out the podium more than a second and a half behind the winner was John Webb with the Porsche 911 Carrera driver also claiming his best of the rest time on his seventh lap of the day.  

Click here for full results.

Despite the weather placing a number of question marks over whether the cars would get proper runs at the track, Series co-coordinator Steve Metlitzky was thrilled with the positive energy throughout the rain-stricken day. 

“The trying conditions of made the track damp, cold and not offering a lot of grip, but it was fantastic to see drivers relish in the weather, as well the spectators still enjoying the show,” Metlitzky said.

“The usual challenge of getting a dry-ish track for your group run was always going to be part of the day but everyone made the best of it and the usual camaraderie and fun and games was evident amongst competitors. 

Click here to view the 2019 standings.

“Congratulations to Marcel Every, Cosi Sorgiovannia and a brilliantly driven, yet often sideways, John Webb for their podium finishes.

“Also a big congratulations to all the class winners, especially Brian Cumins who is a regular competitor and was a first time trophy winner.”

The series’ next round takes place at the end of July with the event being the first of it’s type for the year.

“Being a Point to Point Sprint at Barbagallo Raceway will involve driving parts of the track in reverse and should be both challenging and entertaining,” Metlitzky added.

“We look forward to getting a large number of our competitors down the special event as the competition begins to reach the pointy end of the season.”

For more information on the LF Performance Western Australia State Speed Event, click here.