Busy Barbagallo enjoys golden half century

Tuesday 05 March, 2019
Photos: Delta Photography

The WA Sporting Car Club and Barbagallo enjoyed a wonderful 50th birthday celebration in what was a weekend full of action. 

No one could have asked for better weather as more than 200 cars competed in the Golden Jubilee event that saw 12 categories each hold the first round of the 2019 season. 

Starting the action was Formula Vee, with two consecutive race wins to David Caisley saw him take home both the outright and 1200 class victories. Franz Esterbauer managed a clean sweep in the 1600 class.

Coming in second place for the 1200 class was final race winner Cody Hill, and in third place, after dropping to fourth for the middle two races, was race one winner David Campbell.

It was fairly straight forward in the 1600 class, as April Welsh's three runner-up finishes earned her second ahead of Andrew Lockett who placed third in the same three races. 
There was lots of drama in Formula Ford as Robert Appleyard overcame two fifth place finishes to seal an impressive round win over race one and two winner Braedyn Bowra. 

It all came down to the third race when both drivers had opposing fortunes, as Appleyard won his first and only race of the round and Bowra failed to finish. Whilst two top three finishes for Daniel Gate was enough to place on the final step of the podium.

In Formula 1000, barely anything separated Jordan Oon and Adam Lisle for outright top spot, as both drivers claimed two victories each. A third place to Lisle in the opening race handed Oon the round victory by the slightest of margins.

In the category’s radical class, 2018 Formula 1000 champion Aaron Love claimed a clean sweep over BD Soutar-Dawson and Ashleigh Stewart who finished and second and third respectively. 

Ralt RT4 pilot Michael Henderson dominated the 17-car Formula Classics field to win every race of the weekend. Though all eyes were on the battle for second as Simon Alderson and Martin Bullock battled it out, before the latter failed to finish the fourth race. 

Alderson’s three-second place finishes comfortably sealed second spot, as the consistent Ricky Virago’s four straight fourths was enough to end the weekend in third. 

Only one sole point separated Modern Cars’ Grant Johnson and Rob Hagarty in the Time Challenge, as a disastrous second running for the Hagarty driven Mazda MX-5 saw him claim the victory despite winning two runs. 

Consistent driving from Johnson and his Commodore VT saw him rewarded and it was the same case for Steven Turpin, the Holden R8 Clubsport driver finishing the weekend in third despite only placing in the top five once.

In the category’s other classes, Craig Saywell and his Mazda RX-3 won a tight battle in the Over 3000cc Historic Touring Cars class and David Dearden enjoyed a nice victory in the Racing Cars class. 

John Bondi and Cono Onofaro enjoyed dominate spells in their respective classes for the Historic Touring Cars, while Simon Northey picked up two race wins in his own class. 

It was a fairly mixed field as another Bondi in Brian fell behind John in both a battle for both class and outright, but he settled with second outright above Simon Northey.

There were three categories competing in the joint Sports Sedan/Sports Car races as Grant Hill came away with the outright round victory, while Richard Bloomfield and Denver Parker won their respective categories.


Leading the field for a majority of the weekend was 10-time Australian Sports Sedan Champion Tony Ricciardello, but a DNF in the final race saw him fall down the standings and out of the running.

There were four sets of clean sweeps in the Improved Production Cars as Matt Cherry dominated the field with four wins over John Callegari and Reuben Romkes who both rounded out the podium.

Garry Edwards and his BMW E30, Grant Gellan in the Ford Escort Mk1 and Toyota Corolla FXGT pilot Timothy Riley were all the big winners in the other classes. 

Marc Watkins took out the opening round for the HQ Holdens thanks to his two wins and two runner-ups, while Michael Howlett settled with second after an entraining final race.

Howlett’s one race win along with his two runner-ups comfortably saw him end the weekend in second, as Michael Woodbridge’s poor first race ruined any chance of a strong finish, ending just off the podium behind the consistent Rory Sharp. 

It was a one-two double for Martin Engineering in Saloon Cars as Grant Johnson and Matthew Martin steered their Commodore VTs to four wins and four second places.  

In the Pro-Am Class, Nicholas Hanlon and Brandon Sharpe finished the weekend on equal points after both drivers took two wins and two seconds each.

The Excels saw Dean Hill and Robert Landsmeer trade wins in the opening three races, however it was Hill who eventually came away with the outright round win after Landsmeer failed to finish the final race.

As a result of Landsmeer’s premature exit, Carlos Ambrosio was able to slot into second after his third was enough to seal second outright. Landsmeer had to settle for the final spot on the podium in third.

It was a case of last man standing in Formula Libre as Craig Thompson not only finished every race, but won every one too. John Hurney came in second after finishing two races, while Dick Ward snuck into third.

The next CAMS state circuit championship event will take place at Collie on 30-31 March before returning to Barbagallo in April.