Tasmania Honour 2018's Best

Saturday 02 February, 2019
Tasmania have hosted their second CAMS State Awards, recognising its best and celebrating the winners from 2018.
Photo: Nik Long

The second 2018 CAMS State Awards presented by Burson Auto Parts has taken place with Tasmania the latest state to recognise its best and celebrate the winners from last year.

Headlining the event’s individual accolades were the three Person of the Year awards which were awarded to an outstanding individual in Australian motor sport's three major disciplines - Circuit, Rally and Off Road.

Another major highlight of the evening was the induction of Barry Oliver and Greg Crick, represented by grandson Charlie Parker, into the Tasmania Hall of Fame. 

Craig Brooks was awarded the Rally award off the back of his crew’s gallant effort in the CAMS Australian Rally Championship (ARC) which saw them finish the year in second place and with the Kennards Hire Rally Australia round victory.

The popular Jack Radcliffe was awarded the Off Road trophy for his work behind the scenes at the Southern Off Road Racing Association and in more recent times, in Kellevie, Tasmania.

For his outstanding contribution to Tasmanian motor sport racing through the Light Club of Tasmania, as well as his performances behind the wheel of a HQ Holden during the Tasmanian Super Series, Neville Rattray took out the Circuit award.

Named as the 2018 Castrol Official of the Year was Graham Malcolm, thanks to his dedication to the state’s rally scene, including his work as event director of the award winning Subaru Rally Tasmania. 

Subaru Rally Tasmania had its own moment in the spotlight not long after, with the event awarded State Event Of The Year in light of the successful running of its long-awaited return to ARC calendar.

CAMS Australian Targa Championship Series Steward, Ross Ferguson took home the Service Star award after excelling at the same role during the CAMS PAYCE Australian F4 Championship, while Kevin Burt was recognised with a service award for his work as Chief Flag Marshall with the Light Car Club of Tasmania.

On the junior front, it was Formula Vee driver Justin Murphy who was handed the Burson Future Star award after competing in every round of the 2018 Super Series, quickly building on his reputation as one of the category’s most talented young drivers. 

With Murphy touted as a star of the future, it was Hyundai Excel pilot Grant Seamer who was recognised for his current rookie year, which saw him put in solid performances during the series’ 27 races.

Other notable special award winners included Peter Kemp taking out the Jeff Ransley Perpetual Trophy, Lincoln Spurr the Peter Bondy Trophy and Phil Triffett going home with the Police Commissioner Perpetual Trophy

The next CAMS State Awards, presented by Burson Auto Parts will be held on Friday, 8 February with both Queensland and Victoria celebrating the year that was.



Ling Rookie Perpetual Trophy - Grant Seamer
Jeff Ransley Perpetual Trophy - Peter Kemp
Peter Bondy Trophy - Lincoln Spurr
Police Commissioner Perpetual Trophy - Phil Triffett
Person of the Year – Circuit Racing - Neville Rattray
Person of the Year – Off Road - Jack Radcliffe
Person of the Year – Rally - Craig Brooks
Official of the Year - Graham Malcolm
Service Award - Kevin Burt
Service Star - Ross Ferguson
Burson Future Star - Justin Murphy
Ling Rookie Runner Up - Kylie Chapple
Event of the Year - Subaru Rally Tasmania
CAMS Club Challenge Winning Team - Porsche Club Tasmania
2018 Hillclimb Series Winner - Robert McIntyre
2018 Motorkhana Series Winner- Nick Yaxley

2018 Tasmanian Super Sprint Championship Winner - Brett O'Shea


Light Car Club of Tasmania - 65 years
Southern Off Road Racing Association - 25 years
Tasmanian Off Road Car Club - 45 years
Tasmanian Racing Drivers Club - 20 years
Porsche Club Tasmania - 15 years



Outright Driver - Bodie Reading
Outright Co-Driver - Alex Malcolm
2WD Driver - Stephen Turner
2WD Co-Driver - 2Mitch Newton
Class P2 Driver - Stephen Turner
Class P2 Co-Driver - Mitch Newton
Class P3 Driver - Mark Kyle
Class P3 Co-Driver - Daniel Davies
Class P4 Driver - Stewart Paine
Class P4 Co-Driver - 2Emily Gunn
Class P5 Driver - Nic Grave
Class P5 Co-Driver - Craig Sheahen
Class P6 Driver - Tim Auty
Class P6 Co-Driver - Alex Malcolm
Classic Car Driver - Andrew Morris
Classic Car Co-Driver - David Guest



Outright Winner – Chris Branch
Pro Buggy – Wayne Campbell
Prolite Buggy – Chris Branch
Super 1650 - Geoff Lowry
Extreme 4WD – Dean Maddock
UTV - Michael Stalker
Sports Lite - ChrisS hepheard



Formula Vee 1200 - Nino Bocchino
Sports GTA - Scott Smith
Sports GTB - Tim Mann
Sports GTC - Mick Williams
HQ Holdens - Phil Ashlin
Historic Touring Cars - Warren Bryan
Sports Sedans - Eric Taylor
Improved Production - Leigh Forrest
Hyundai Excel - Peter Kemp
Historic Regularity - Brett Mansfield
Ron and Ivy McDonald Circuit Racing Trophy - Scott Cordwell