WA celebrates 2018's heroes

Sunday 20 January, 2019
Western Australia’s best have been recognised at the first CAMS State Awards presented by Burson Auto Parts in Perth on Saturday night.

Western Australia’s best have been recognised at the first CAMS State Awards presented by Burson Auto Parts in Perth on Saturday night.

A full house attended Crown Perth for the prestigious gala dinner recognising the Western Australia’s 2018 winners, as well as celebrating those who contributed off track whether as a volunteer or official. 

Headlining the list of winners was Paul Bartlett who was awarded the Western Australian Castrol State Official of the Year,

Acting as the Vintage Sports Car Club of WA’s competition secretary, Bartlett was recognised for his dedication and leadership throughout the year, as well as his work with the club's four major competition events.

While the experienced Bartlett took out the top honour for officials, 17-year-old Samantha Polak was awarded with the Castrol Junior State Official of the Year.

Since obtaining her CAMS officials license in 2015, Polak has contributed a lot of time and effort to the sport, especially in 2018 where she attended all WA CAMS Rally Championship events.  

Fellow junior Brock McGregor was also recognised, receiving the Burson Future Star Award following a brilliant year on the track.

McGregor claimed a host of races in the Excel series, winning the CAMS Motor Race Championship and Excel Cup Championship, while placing 13th out of 52 in the Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour Excel event.  

After many years of dedicated service to motor sport in Western Australia, John Thorburn was awarded with the 2018 WA Service Star award.

Working tirelessly behind the scenes with a host of disciplines including circuit racing, gravel rallies and Targa, Thorburn built a reputation as someone who constantly helps people and clubs to achieve positive outcomes. 

One of the final accolades to be handed out on the night, was the CAMS State Event of the Year, awarded to the eV Challenge powered by Synergy.

The event, which has been running since 2001, saw an impressive rise of participants in 2018 as 39 teams, most from high schools designed, built, tested and constructed a small single seat electric vehicle and competed against each other. 

Coulomb Motorsport were deemed outright champions and class winners, while Melville SHS and Helena College were other class victors and Marley Racing were awarded with the Engineering award.

The next CAMS State Awards, presented by Burson Auto Parts will be held in Tasmania at the Hotel Grand Chancellor in Hobart on Saturday 2 February, 2019.



CAMS Awards

Official of the Year - Paul Bartlett
Service Star - John Thorburn
Young Official of the Year - Samantha Polak

CAMS Club Challenge 2018

WRX Car Club of WA Team - Scooby Doo

Jamie Lister
Neil Herbert
Cody Harris
Mathew Softley
Nathon Mclaren
Michael Steele

BURSON Future Star

Brock Mcgregor

CAMS State Event of the Year

eV Challenge powered by Synergy

Celebrating CAMS Club Milestones

50 Years Affiliated - MG Car Club of WA Inc
40 Years Affiliated - Alfa Romeo Owners Club of Australia WA
20 Years Affiliated - Collie Motorsports Group
15 Years Affiliated - Improved Production Racing Association of WA
10 Years Affiliated - Motoring South West
10 Years Affiliated - Rover Scouts Motor Sport WA
10 Years Affiliated - Triumph Sports Owners Association of WA
5 Years Affiliated - Wanneroo Flag Marshal Association

CAMS State Speed Event Series

First Place - Peter Morley
Second Place - Ray Ferrari
Third Place - Marcel Every

CAMS WA Motorkhana Championship

Outright - Scott Bennett
Lady Driver - Lisa Armstrong
Junior Driver - Ethan Andersson
Novice Driver - Jordan Costantino
Class A - David Elliott
Class B - Jurgen Lunsmann
Class C - Peter Marsh
Class D - Peter Carrick
Class E - Alex Butler
Class F - Scott Bennett

CAMS WA Rally Championship and Series

Outright Driver - John O’Dowd
Outright Co-Driver - Michael Wood
2WD Championship - Driver - Alex White
2WD Championship - Co-Driver - Lisa White
Rookie of the Year - Driver - Craig Rando
Rookie of the Year - Co-Driver - Matthew Scafidi
Clubman Cup - Driver - Graeme Miles
Clubman Cup - Co-Driver - Kathy Miles
Clubman Cup - Rookie of the Year - Driver - Rod Fowler
Clubman Cup - Rookie of the Year - Co-Driver - Garry McCagh
Clubman Masters - Driver - Carl Rattenbury
Clubman Masters - Co-Driver - Tracey Rattenbury

CAMS WA Off Road Championship

Outright - Driver - Jared Percival
Outright - Co-Driver - Darryn Beckett
Outright Second Place - Driver - Colin Doney
Outright Second Place - Co-Driver - Peter Doney
Outright Third Place - Driver - Shane Elphinstone
Outright Third Place - Co-Driver - Curt Elphinstone
Pro Buggy - Driver - Shane Elphinstone
Pro Buggy - Co-Driver - Curt Elphinstone
Pro Lite Buggy - Driver - Jared Percival
Pro Lite Buggy - Co-Driver - Darryn Beckett
Super 1650 - Driver - Michael Davis
Super 1650 - Co-Driver - Kerry Yaxley
Extreme 2WD - Driver - Colin Doney
Extreme 2WD - Co-Driver - Peter Doney
Performance 2WD - Driver - Mathew Beck
Performance 2WD - Co-Driver - Jeremy Beck
SxS Turbo - Driver - Michael Ware
SxS Turbo - Co-Driver - Robert Ansingh
Production 4WD - Driver - Travis Epis
Production 4WD - Co-Driver - Asher Hyland
Sportslite - Driver - Peter Barrett
Sportslite - Co-Driver - Craig Carson
Extreme 4WD - Driver - Mitchell Davies
Extreme 4WD - Co-Driver - Owen Davies


CAMS WA Motor Race Championship

Formula 1000 - Aaron Love
Formula Ford - Bryce Moore
Formula Ford Silver Star - Matthew Lyford
Formula Classic - Michael Henderson
Formula Vee - 1200cc - Danny Cerro
Formula Vee - 1600cc - Austin Pearson
HQ Racing - Marc Watkins
Improved Production - Under 1600cc - Tim Riley
Improved Production - Under 2000cc - Ron Coote
Improved Production - Under 3000cc - Garry Edwards
Improved Production - Over 3000cc - Reuben Romkes
Historic Regularity - Touring Car Over 3001cc - Mendo Joncevski
Historic Regularity - Touring Car Under 3000cc - Jamie Scott
Historic Regularity - Race Car (MOPQR) - Mike Connell
Historic Regularity - Sports Car (M) - Gary Cutler
Historic Regularity - Sports Car (JKL) - Geoff Findlay
Historic Regularity - Overall - Geoff Findlay
Modern Regularity - Robert Janney
Historic Touring Cars - NA-NB under 3000cc - First Place - Cono Onofaro
Historic Touring Cars - NA-NB under 3000cc - Second Place - Dean Whisson
Historic Touring Cars - NA-NB under 3000cc - Third Place - Randle Beavis
Historic Touring Cars - NA-NB over 3001cc - First Place - Laurie Lapsley
Historic Touring Cars - NA-NB over 3001cc - Second Place - Simon Northey
Historic Touring Cars - NA-NB over 3001cc - Third Place - Gary Crosswell
Historic Touring Cars - NC under 3000cc - First Place - Martyn Piercey
Historic Touring Cars - NC under 3000cc - Second Place - Ken Waller
Historic Touring Cars - NC under 3000cc - Third Place - Owen Satchell
Historic Touring Cars - NC Over 3001cc - First Place - John Bondi
Historic Touring Cars - NC Over 3001cc - Second Place - Brian Bondi
Historic Touring Cars - NC Over 3001cc - Third Place - Peter George
Saloon Cars - EA/VN - Nicholas Hanlon
Saloon Cars - AU/VT - Grant Johnson
Street Cars - Brad Cuss
Street Cars - under 2060cc - Kelvin Sharp
Sports Cars - John Roderick
Sports Sedans - Grant Hill
Hyundai Excel - Brock McGregor