Individual masterclasses on show at Wakefield Park

Tuesday 10 September, 2019
Photos: Priceless Images
More than 100 competitors have taken part in the CAMS New South Wales Motor Racing Championship’s latest round with a number of categories being dominated by brilliant individual displays.
With eight categories doing battle across the weekend at the Tirrannaville based race track, six resulted in individual clean sweeps, while the remaining two were a lot closer.

Boasting the largest field of the race meeting, Formula Ford saw two different drivers share top honours, but it was Angelo Mouzouris who ultimately claimed victory thanks to his two wins over race one winner Cody Burcheer.

The only other category not to have one dominating driver was Sunday’s CAMS NSW Improved Production Under 2 Litre with Kurt Macready winning the round. Macready was the only driver in the category to finish every race on the podium, while David Williams enjoyed a win and a third place to cap off a successful weekend. 

The remaining six categories were a lot more straightforward with the CAMS NSW Improved Production Over 2 Litres, one of the standouts.

Behind the wheel of the Mitsubishi Evo 8, Michael King had the perfect Sunday over Trevan Spiteri with wins in all races. 
The weekend’s opening category saw Alexander Kenny far too good for the remaining CAMS NSW Supersports Championship drivers, securing three wins from three races. Darren Barlow came in second after finishing just behind Kenny in all three races.

While the HQ Holdens were done and dusted quite quickly thanks to Brett Osborn claiming top honours in every race, the battle for second was much closer as Chris Molle edged out Stuart Lillie to end the weekend with two runner-ups.

Saturday’s major category, the Production Sports Cars held two longer races instead of three sprints and it was Brad Schumacher who came away with the two wins. It was an unchanged top three as Sergio Pires finished second ahead of Marcel Zalloua in the category.

Aaron Lee won Formula Vee in similar fashion as he crossed the line first in all three races. Finishing just behind the leader was Craig Spark who had no answers for Lee after coming second in every race.

Greg Muddle was crowned winner of the Formula Race car category after picking up three wins from the three races and Phil Morrow came in second thanks to his two runner-ups, while three third places for Robert Rowe saw him claim the final step on the podium.
The final round of the NSW CAMS Motor Race championships will take place on 26-27 October at Sydney Motorsport Park.