Major win at Targa West

Monday 12 August, 2019
Photo: Tim Allott
Peter Major has won his sixth Make Smoking History Targa West title, lighting up Perth with an impressive victory alongside co-driver Kim Screaigh.
The action was tight throughout the three day event, only seconds separated Major with runner-up Peter Rullo for most of the tarmac rally that draws a large crowd to Perth and surrounds.

Podium Modern credit CMR Photographic-TW19-7951

It was not just a milestone win for the driver, but also the machinery, with Major’s 2004 Porsche 996 Turbo winning its fourth consecutive Targa West – Major winning three of those four, Rullo the other in 2018 when Major missed the iconic West Australian event.
This year, Rullo and co-driver Jimmy Marquet were behind the wheel of a brand new Lotus Exige Sport 410 – and the Lotus was every chance to knock off Major’s Porsche until Rullo dropped one minute after locking the brakes and driving straight over a roundabout – denying Rullo the chance to take the fight to Major in the remaining stages.
Despite the mishap, Rullo was able to hold on to second place.
Major was understandably delighted at adding another Targa West crown to the trophy cabinet as winners of the overall event and Competition Modern class.

Major with kids on roof credit Tim Allott

“It’s really special to be listed among such esteemed drivers who have won Targa West, and to win six, it just feels surreal,” Major said.

“I was 25 when I won my first rally and things are bit different these days with two little kids – I’m trying to steer them towards tennis or cricket so I have some money in the bank when I retire.

“Full credit to Peter Rullo, he pushed me harder than I’ve ever been pushed. I’d also like to thank the organisers and volunteers for another great rally.”

Rullo praised Major for his victory, disappointed he wasn’t able to claim back-to-back event wins.
“It just wasn’t meant to be, but I’ve learnt a lot and learnt a great deal about the Lotus, we had no issues with it. I’ll be back next year,” Rullo said.

White turn credit Tim Allott

Will White and Matt Thompson were able to take third place in their 2006 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9, finishing just over two minutes behind Rullo and Marquet and four minutes behind Major and Screaigh top pace.
In the Competition Classic (pre 1986) class, Simon Gunson and co-driver Jurgen Lunsmann guided their 1971 Ford Capri Perana to a class win, dominating from start to finish.

Gunson close credit Tim Allott

Meanwhile, in the Targa 130 (showroom style, speed limited to 130km/h) class, husband and wife duo Jeffrey and Catherine Foster saluted, piloting their 2016 Porsche Cayman 981 GTS to a 52 second victory.

Foster side TWD1 credit Tim Allott

The 2Day Rallye component of the event Andy van Kann and co-driver Megan Logue were triumphant in their NOROCK 2007 Honda Civic Type R. The 2Day Rallye was designed for those competitors only participating in the weekend stages.

Van Kann credit CMR Photographic-TW19-6513

Full results are available at